Welcome to Second Grade!

My name is Stacy Ellis and I will be your daughter’s second grade teacher. This is my fifth year as a teacher and my eighth year in the field of education. I have been a paraprofessional in both the Denver Public School system and with Marietta City Schools. The past four years, I have spent teaching third grade in the DeKalb County School System. I earned my masters degree from the University of Phoenix and my undergraduate degree from Georgia State University. As a Georgia native, I grew up in Marietta and my husband and I now live in Grant Park.

This year will be a great year because WE will make it great! We are getting your child ready for third grade. We will have a great deal of fun in learning new and exciting things together. Parents, I am looking forward to working with your daughters. I sincerely hope that this will be a wonderful year. I feel it’s important to share a few things that will help our classroom run more smoothly.

Homework:
Homework will be given on Monday in a packet for the entire week. All homework will be due on Friday. Please help your child by letting her read you the directions for homework assignments. Have her explain the assignment to you. Let her work through the assignments alone, and then go through the homework together. Homework assignments are important. Late homework will have points deducted unless the student has an excused absence. Students are expected to read at least fifteen to twenty minutes every night. There is a calendar page in the agenda for recording each days’ reading minutes; please initial the box daily. Our goal is to make sure that your child looks forward to reading and learning.

Communication:
Communication between home and school is very important. To keep the lines of communication open and to avoid those “I didn’t do anything in school” days, please check your child’s agenda daily. Additionally, my blog will be updated regularly with important information and dates to remember:
stacywellis.wordpress.com
My email address is stacy.ellis@imagineschools.com  Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Absences:
Regular school attendance is critical to the learning process. When your child is absent, she misses valuable instructional time. Please send a written note of explanation whenever your child is absent. State law requires us to code each absence as excused or unexcused. Excused absences include illness, doctor’s appointments, and family emergencies. Unexcused absences include unnecessary trips, missing the bus, and family vacations. Therefore a note must be sent in when the student returns to school in order for them to be considered for an excused absence.

Behavioral Expectations:
We will be using a positive discipline approach in our classroom. I will not only reward students for good behavior, but I will make examples of them in the classroom as models of excellent behavior. As second graders, our students should know how to behave and control themselves. I expect all of my students to be on their best behavior at all times. Parents please understand that we are working as a team to make your child be the best she can possibly be. We are also preparing your daughter for third grade. Students will receive rewards for good behavior. Positive, helpful, or polite behaviors will earn tickets. Five tickets will earn your child a reward such as a trip to the treat box, computer time, board games, or quiet reading time.

Each student will also use the color system. Students will begin each day “on green”. Breaking rules will move a student to “yellow”. Students on yellow will spend time at the Reflection Desk, journaling about why they are there and their plan or future behavior. If inappropriate choices continue to be made, students will move to “red”. Students on red will call a parent at home or work and miss ten minutes of recess. Students can work their way back to yellow, or even green, with good behavior. I feel that, with the positive expectations we both have for your daughter, she will succeed this year. I feel that the home-school line of communication should remain open, so please call or email me at anytime.

I know that you will have many questions of your own. My hope is that this letter has answered some of them. Please remember that my door is always open.

Welcome to OUR second grade class. I know it will be an AWESOME year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

